FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Home Ownership Program Available Soon in Marshall County

BELOIT, **KS**, **May 7**, **2024** — A pilot program that seeks to make home ownership more affordable will be available for a limited time in Marshall County beginning May 13th.

The pilot Marshall County Home Ownership Program will offer up to \$12,500 in down payment and closing cost assistance. The program's incentives include a combination of a fixed rate 3% down payment assistance loan of \$10,000 and a closing cost grant of \$2,500 when purchasing a home of \$50,000 or greater in Marshall County.

Eligible homes include existing ones, existing homes with planned/financed upgrades totaling \$50,000 or greater, manufactured homes including lot and infrastructure, or new construction. The program is available on a first-come, first-served basis for a limited time until funds run out or when the program ends on December 31, 2024.

The North Central Regional Planning Commission (NCRPC) of Beloit, Kansas, administers the program. To be eligible, a bank with a physical location in the NCRPC 12-county service area must provide the primary bank loan.

The program is designed to be a catalyst for first-time home buyers, benefit employers in recruiting and retaining employees, and attract alumni back to the region to work, start/buy a business, or retire.

Four Rivers Housing Opportunities, Inc., a non-profit managed by the North Central Regional Planning Commission, is providing funding for the program. Other local program donors include Citizens State Bank of Marysville, First Commerce Bank, First Heritage Bank, Vermillion; First National Bank, Frankfort; Guise-Weber Foundation, Marshall County

Marshall County Home Ownership Program - Page 2

Partnership for Growth, Marysville Community Foundation, R.L. & Elsa Helvering Trust, State

Bank of Bern, Axtell; United Bank & Trust, and Western National Bank, Summerfield.

"Home ownership can be a tough goal to achieve," said Keegan Bailey, NCRPC Housing

Director. "We hope the Marshall County Home Ownership Program can be a tool to help make

home buying a reality for individuals and families."

A similar program will also launch in Clay County on May 13th. Since 2018, pilot home

ownership programs have been completed in Cloud, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln,

Mitchell, Ottawa, Republic, Saline, and Washington Counties, and the City of Marysville. These

pilot programs have combined to assist in the purchase of 149 homes in the region with an

approximate value of \$19.5 million.

For more information about the Marshall County Home Ownership Program, contact your

local realtor or bank, or visit www.ncrpc.org/homeownership.

###

The NCRPC is committed to advancing rural Kansas through comprehensive planning and development services. Its primary service area includes 12 counties and 83 cities in North Central Kansas. For more information about the organization, visit www.ncrpc.org.

For more information, contact:

Keegan Bailey, Home Ownership Program Manager

Phone: 785-738-2218

Email: homeownership@ncrpc.org